KL2 Design Co

Vectors

Posted on: March 30, 2011

 

So… I don’t think I really like vectors. It’s a cool technique, I guess, but I don’t think I’ll ever be able to do something like the picture in the tutorial. I think my final was around 75 layers? I spread it out over several days, though, so I’m not sure how long it took me. I’ve never used the Pen Tool before, so I chose a really simple picture of a sign. While I think I did it correctly, I’m thinking the picture I chose isn’t a very good one for vectors. It kind of looks like it already was a vector, and I tried to make a new vector, so I apologize for that. But oh well… by the time I figured out that piece of it, it was too late to start a new one.

 

original picture

 

vector image

 

10 Responses to "Vectors"

This is such a good start! You recreated the picture perfectly. I think you are ready to try something a little harder! :]

I agree. The picture looks exactly the same. You got the paths down to a pat. But I would have loved to see something like color change.

Yeah same as everyone else said, looks the same. Good try though!

Yeah, that definitely looks like the original.

Switch some color up. Maybe place the object on a different background.

I’m up there with everyone else, you definitely got the hang of it! I couldn’t tell the difference between the two!

It looks like we all agree with you. Practically the same. Maybe try a photo instead of a graphic?

I agree, it doesn’t look much different from the original but great recreation! 🙂 I agree, I’m not a fan of this vector thing either, but it was fun to learn at least.

It looks exactly as the original. I´m agree with Jill that maybe using a photo will give you better results. Work with vectors is really fun only take time !!

excellent recreation of the original

Leave a comment

Team Dork is made up of Kristina (that's me!) and Jimmy (my husband) Lee.

Organization Attempt

This button means you will be emailed when creative genius strikes me... Fun, huh?!

Join 1 other subscriber